Mentor Reflection

mentor 6

The mentor workshop really reinforced all my feelings and thoughts about being a mentor. My mentor has talked to me a lot about the purpose of being a mentor and the process of selection. So, I would say I felt pretty prepared regarding the process. What really resonated with me was when they asked the difference between a mentor and a role model. mentor 2 mentor 1In my head all I could see was a mentor being someone standing next to you and a role model is someone you look up too. I then thought to myself how I want to be both those things to my mentee. A point the Mentor Workshop pointed out was how to grow a relationship. How we will start as strangers, which will be awkward but how are we going to grow that relationship. That brings me to all my thoughts on how/ what kind of mentor do I want to be. My mentor focused very hard on helping us (me and my twin megan) finding us as leaders and the person we want to be. He did it through many deeper talks and some self-reflecting letters, which I now appreciate. He took a more philosophical approach to our relationships.IMG_0981

The way he went about growing our relationship turned out to work fine but I don’t believe would be the process in which I want to grow mine and my mentees relationship.

I am a very “relationshipy” kind of person. I love giving hugs, and asking about their day went, being the shoulder to cry on. My friends since Jr. High have always called me mom. Now I’ve been really thinking hard about what kind of relationship I want with my mentee. I don’t want that mom relationship. I want to grow from my mentee as much as I hope he/she grows from me. I want to establish trust and loyalty, and positive communication, which is the strong foundation that needs to be made.mentor 4 mentor 3 From that I believe a strong mutual friendship can be made. We can go to each other in the good times and the bad time. For me to be an effective mentor I strongly believe from the beginning we need to have that strong foundation of trust and loyalty, and positive communication. That will be built through spending time together where we feel on equal ground. No one trying to feel more or less than one other. We learn about each other’s past, present goals and goals for the future. Go on adventures together, those times you learn about their personality something that you can’t necessarily explain. All those things build trust, respect, and a care for someone whether we have something in common or not. Those things will make your mentor mentee relationship thrive. Together we will help find who we are as leaders and I will share my experiences since I have already gone through them. I strongly believe putting these into practice will make for a positive mentor and mentee experience. I look forward most to the relationship that we will build and to be that person that he/she knows will always be by their side and there to help them, share the good times, and get through the bad times together. All while helping each other grow our leadership and push ourselves to go outside our comfort zone and open our minds.

mentor 5

Leave a Reply

