Alpha Kappa Psi ’16-’17

My student organization that I have been honored to be able to be a part of is Alpha Kappa Psi Professional Business Fraternity. They have brought many amazing opportunities friends and experience my way in the past two years. The organization has challenged me and inspired me to strive for excellence. It has provided myself with two large experience that have been some of my proudest accomplishments of my time here at central.

My first, and not as “physically large“ of an opportunity was to
develop a leadership development lesson for our incoming members. Our
organization prides itself on developing principled business leaders, and
leadership is something that I am passionate about. Leaders grow in many ways
and I saw that statement as somewhere I could impact our membership while doing
something I love.

The specifics of the lesson change every semester as I try to gear
it to the need of the group as a whole. The core topics that I work to make a
point at covering is answering the questions of “what kind of leader am I”,
“how can my leadership style impact others.” and “in the areas that my
leadership style is challenged is there others who can support me”. I
supplement these questions with activities where the group has the chance to
work together with the awareness of who they are as leaders as well as who
their peers are as leaders.

The second, and larger opportunity that the fraternity has brought
me was the opportunity to plan the Central Michigan University College of Business
Administration Career Fair.

Where myself and a co-chair work tirelessly
in partnership with the Central Michigan University Career Services office to
bring roughly 140 business to our campus to recruit CMU students. Career
Services and Alpha Kappa Psi has a strong relationship as their role is to help
student find jobs, and my fraternity’s goal is to uphold our 100% full time job
placement after college. My co-chair and I plan the agenda and set up times
with Career Services to coordinate responsibilities, expectations, and
materials. The tedious planning of the event takes months, but at the end it is
truly something.This special relationship between Alpha Kappa Psi and Career services gets to both reach their goals and bring jobs and opportunities to our students.akp 4

Being able to plan this event for two semesters in a row and to watch our impact as a team grow and number of students and companies in attendance increasing i have been encouraging and getting information together to relocate the event. Which may not seem like such a hard task, but there are many many moving parts to consider. This coming semester we were able to make it happen!

Alpha Kappa Psi has impacted my life personally and professional like none other could.

Leave a Reply

